Thursday, March 5, 2026

I Like Thursday # 494 best/worst haircuts... and a poodle

 

welcome to this week's list of likes... starting with we got a bit of rain, and the mountains got a bit of snow, nearly the first all winter. Check out that golf course grass... brown and fragile

so in keeping with the non winter we had, the winter that never was, it's hot walking...

pant, pant, pant and that's both of us!
Dewi/Arlo/Theo (We can't settle on a name) is settling in just fine, played with a toy this week, finally slept like he was safe, on his back with 4 poodle legs in the air, and became my studio helper allowing me to work again


St pat's day hexie spiral
and paint again

He helped in the kitchen when I made him treats

rice applesauce almond butter logs

and had fun watching the neighbor's dogs playing fetch

fun to see as long as I don't have to deal with them


He is interested in all wildlife, from a distance, and content to be just us for a while. (it's been hard to keep people from reaching for him, but he just hides behind me for now

Our conversation starter this week is:  what is the worst haircut you ever had? 

Let's see, starting with my 2nd baby picture at a few months old... they wet my "baby bird fluff" hair and pulled it into a curl on top of my nearly bald head (I don't have baby pics of me) 

kind of like this, who isn't me but looks like the pic I saw

I was adopted and the doctor told my Ad. mo. not to get attached since I wasn't going to make it

She had a big oil painting made of that baby picture. Next hair misdo was when I still had straight baby bird hair, that the mother pulled into the tightest smallest pigtails making me cry. 

Again not me but the hair is similar

then all elementary school pictures tried to be the MOST hideous .  I actually asked for a bob wig for my birthday and got it, and I looked like agent 99 from Get smart


Next I asked for electric curlers, and they had little plastic spikes which immediately got horribly tangled in my thin baby bird hair... needing to be cut out... oy vey  But by high school I was in!

Long straight hair was in vogue while I was in high school. Parted down the middle, and I was finally in my heyday! Au natural, long, straight, with no effort at all, no sleeping on big rollers. 


which I kept til mid university when I got a shag style.

In the 80's I spiked the top of the shag then... every time some hairdresser suggested a perm, it fell out straight before she could even wash it. They always wanted me to cut it short, which looked wrong on my round face. 

Nowadays I cut my own, and it generally looks flattering til the last one.... it went from bad to worse when I kept trying to layer it and now.. only the gracious few get to see me til it grows out a bit!!! 

I just wish I hadn't become allergic to hair dye as it's at least 50/50 brown and grey now 

 Books

reading the next museum mystery by Sheila Connoly, 


and listening to next Hanna mystery by joanne fluke  while sewing

watching Survivor, Am. Idol, and just finished this season of Darby and Joan (Australian) on TV


LOVE cows and this video


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1f9b7sX_XY&list=RDldOBXLcsZjs&index=4

Please visit these folk to see what they liked, and let me know if you wrote a post to include here!

14 comments:

Debra She Who Seeks said...

I had a friend once who had that kind of ultra straight hair that wouldn't hold a perm. It was a waste of money for her to even try.

Cloudia said...

Thanks for this reminder of all we've went through for beauty. Aloha!

https://comfortspiral.blogspot.com/2026/03/passport-to-happiness.html?m=0

carol l mck said...

Your new doggie is aweso'me ~ so sweet and precious ~ yep hair do's were ever changing ~ hugs,
an artist reflects ~
https://anartistreflects.com

Angela said...

Oh I love Sandra Boynton. I have about five of her board books for the grandkids. So fun. Dewi is lucky to have found you! I am glad he is doing better with each passing day!

Magpie's Mumblings said...

I'm glad Dewi is settling in and making a home with you.
As for the question of the day - my worst had to be the perm my mother and hairdresser aunt insisted I 'needed' before I entered high school. My aunt was used to working with older ladies hair and so the timing was way off and she ended up literally frying my hair. I ended up with an 'afro' long before that look was in. My hair didn't grow for an entire year and would come out in clumps if I tried to comb it. Way to instill confidence in a 5'9" 100 lb. skin and bones dealing with high school.

Shannon said...

I am 100% here for the doggie awesomeness!!! Sending hugs!!

Duke said...

Mom had a portrait painted of me when I was very young. I had crooked bangs and you could see though my blouse to my undershirt and the portrait is a good size. It sits in the closet as I really don't like it. It seems you are getting more comfy day by day, Dewi.

Kathleen said...

Love that Mr. Pup is settling in. Funny haircut was when I decided to cut it all off after high school and go short...hated that cut....but it got it out of my system.

Michelle said...

I will confess that in the 80's I had VERY short hair with a rat tail. Yes, yes I did. The things we do to stay trendy as teenagers. Glad your sweet pup continues to settle in and he looks happy :) Thank you for linking up.

Brian's Home Blog said...

I'm so glad your sweet pup is settling in and feeling the love, that is truly wonerful. Thanks for joining Angel Brian's Thankful Thursday Blog Hop!

PaintedThread said...

Sandra Boynton makes me smile. I have several of her books. LOL

Sara said...

So glad your new boy is settling in nicely. My mother kept my hair braided tight. The worst haircut I remember as a kid was the very short pixie cut I got due to pine sap. I had been climbing trees and even the hairdresser couldn’t get that sap out or the braids loosened. So she cut it best she could right at those rubber bands. Lucky for me my hair grows fast.

sonja said...

I like Arlo, i love you have a sweet canine in your life again! happy walks and happy trails ahead!!

Jocelyn is Canadian Needle Nana said...

I have slightly curly hair so perms are a bit of a minefield for me. Took a while to figure that out...a few bad hairdos later. I am over the moon that you have your sweet doggie!